Fear in Politics

The events of the last US election have been on my mind a lot.  Obviously it was very contentious, and it seemed to me to bring out the worst in a lot of people on both sides.

So I get it, blaming people, scapegoating, inciting fear and anger are powerful tools.  Both sides indulged in it, the media clamored to cover it, and we ate it up, often times neglecting discussion on issues of importance.  Our country feels more divided.  People and groups are fearful now who had no cause to be fearful before.  This was one of the most divisive elections in recent memory, but given the success of the tactics, can we expect more of this?  Will this snowball?

These tactics aren’t new, what made this happen so aggressively this time?  Can something be done to prevent it and focus decisions of leadership on a logical discussion of issues?

I swore an oath to support and defend the Constitution of the United States.  I have risked my life for that oath and I do love my country.  The tone of this election has made me less excited about continued service, but we don’t run from problems, that’s not what we do in the United States.  If we believe something is dangerous or out of line, then we need to do something about it.

 

-Dmitri

 

 

Leave a Reply

