Patriotism

As a military member, I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with patriotism.  I do love my country, and I took an oath to support and defend the constitution, which I take seriously.  However, blind patriotism, and appeals to outright nationalism, I see as very dangerous.  Often times statements like that are for domestic political reasons – it’s easier to unite people behind you if you have there’s a big bad enemy, or you can give the perception of one.  War is rarely productive or simple.  I wish more people took a more critical eye towards the types of things politicians say.

Anyway, I do love cookouts and explosions as much as the next person though.

Happy 4th of July everybody!

-Dmitri

Leave a Reply

