Attention whore

I’m an attention whore.  Perhaps strong words but that’s the term for it.  It’s invigorating to stand apart from the crowd.  Tattoos, flamboyant or minimal clothing, loud music, ostentatious accouterments, all of it is fun.

Strange for someone who grew up pretty much an introvert, that part was probably due to some overbearing parenting.  Still, even as a nerdy kid, I rocked the metal tees and defined myself as the outsider, not part of the crowd.  There was a lack of self-confidence to actually want the crowd’s attention, but the seeds were there.

Event stranger that I’ve been able to fit in to the military pretty well, I’ve been lucky to find a career field where I can maintain a streak of independence.  The military at a certain stage does encourage some extrovertism, which finally developed my self confidence and had a pretty extreme change on my approach to social life.

Similar behavior in partners is attractive.  Women who have outgoing personalities, which is reflected in their dress and manners is so sexy.  Confidence bordering on cocky is just what does it for me.  Afterall, what better way to get attention for myself than with a partner who acts the same way?

 

~Dmitri

Leave a Reply

